Dare to Care

Dare to Care

Autre option

Winner of the " Making a Difference Award - Best Documentary Under 30 minutes " at the Global Community Film Festival - (Toronto 2010)
What kind of young person do we want to produce at the end of a 12-year education? This is the question that leading experts in both education and philosophy are looking to answer.

In a series of interviews with Dr. Wanda Cassidy, Dr. Heesoon Bai and other practicing educators, Dare to Care: Transforming Schools through the Ethics of Care takes a critical and contemplative look at education in the western world.

Have we put relationships at the bottom of the agenda and made test scores and discipline the focuses of our schools? Has a “factory” approach to educating our children created a difficult environment for teachers struggling to keep up with a curriculum-based paradigm? How would an environment based on the ethics of care look and how do we get there?

Dare to Care explores the many challenges that arise when we try to create a more caring school environment and shows the evolution of the western education model. This film empowers the audience to further explore the issues for themselves.

Written and directed by Mike Hawley and Darcy Van Poelgeest, Dare to Care combines High Definition, stock footage and super 8mm film to offer an engaging and artistic educational video.

Study Guide

Les évaluations professionnelles et les guides pédagogiques sont réservés aux abonnés CAMPUS.


Des fonctionnalités conçues spécialement pour les profs! En savoir plus

Déjà abonné? Connectez-vous

Ajouter ce code à votre site

Dare to Care, Mike Hawley et Darcy Van Poelgeest, offert par l'Office national du film du Canada

Largeur de la vidéo :

par Réinitialiser
  • producteur
    Mike Hawley
    Darcy Van Poelgeest
  • réalisateur
    Mike Hawley
    Darcy Van Poelgeest
  • None
    Peter McCormack
    Wanda Cassidy
    Terry Kim
    Eric Cairns
    Natasha Lutz
  • photographe
    Mike Hawley
    Darcy Van Poelgeest
  • gérant de production
    Neil MacDonald
  • producteur associé
    Randall Lloyd Okita
  • monteur
    Mike Hawley
    Darcy Van Poelgeest
  • musique
    Matthew Rogers
  • décorateur plateaux
    Andy Chambers
  • machiniste de plateau
    Terry Kim
  • prise de son
    Mike Hawley
    Darcy Van Poelgeest
  • correction des couleurs
    Mike Hawley
  • mixage son
    Mike Hawley
  • titres
    Peter DeBay
  • graphiques
    Peter DeBay
  • maquilleur
    Jessica Steblyk
  • assistant de production
    Chris Fereirra
  • participant
    Heesoon Bai
    Kumari Beck
    Wanda Cassidy
    Heather McAllister
    Kel McDowell
    Sue Montabello
    Joan Parsonson
    Christie Whitley